ARTICLE: INTEGRATED PRODUCT LIFECYCLE MANAGEMENT

Why integrated Product Lifecycle Management is of existential significance for digitalisation strategy and what requirements will be set in respect of the modernisation of existing PLM systems

Every one of you is familiar with the highly polished advertising videos in which technology visions suggest the end of complicated development processes. In this, engineering via augmented reality becomes child’s play, the design is optimised in real-time feedback loops in the virtual space and then produced on site using additive manufacturing processes. All of this is framed by artificial intelligence. Who still needs Product Lifecycle Management in that environment?

What sounds so visionary is, from a purely pragmatic point of view, only the long-term result of the disruptive change processes of modern industry. However, the basic requirements in terms of the product lifecycle remain the same even with such a degree of automation:

the introduction of digital system models for continuous process chains in product development, production planning, production and service. That means: the provision of all information to do with the system, a seamless horizontal and vertical integration of the value chain, consistent traceability and thus, finally, minimisation of the total cost of ownership (TCO).

One of the greatest current challenges in Product Lifecycle Management is the setting up of a PLM system that is integrated across the entire product lifecycle. In practice, however, the focus of enterprise applications to date has been exclusively on development and design. In this context “integrated” should, however, also include supply chains and after-sales. To achieve this, you need a type of central BUS system that can communicate uniformly across the entire lifecycle and across all dimensions: the product structure. It ultimately provides the framework for a digital system model.

Specifically, this break is evident in the upstream integration at the boundaries between the engineering CAD models, the requirements structures and the BOM line items of the E-BOM.

In the downstream integration, the same problem occurs, at the latest, at the interface of the E-BOM with the M-BOM. Different authoring systems and missing connections or non-existent functional and logical product architectures enormously obstruct the path to complete integration.

Future PLM systems must be able to smoothly depict the processes just mentioned above. Particularly in light of modern “as a service” business models, predictive maintenance and sustainability trends, digital models are of strategic importance for the system development of the future and the digitalisation strategy of almost every enterprise far beyond delivery.

For service and maintenance, “digital twins” will in future be derived from the global digital models and thus represent the “as maintained” status of the individual system instances. Running times, down times, health data and other system information from the operation flow back and are directly included into the design of future product generations. Systems are, for example, therefore able to independently place orders for replacement parts – condition monitoring using IIOT.

The following requirements can be briefly summarised from this information:

  • Introduction of MBSE for vertical and horizontal traceability
  • Integration of a continuous product structure for the resolution of conflicts between various BOMs and system views
  • Use of a digital model/digital twin for “as a service” services
  • Standardised change and configuration management across the entire product lifecycle
  • Use of Business Intelligence to detect optimisation potential early on and thus, for example, improve engineering and service
  • Integration of agile procedures in the further development of authoring and administration systems.

Ultimately, it is up to management to set the relevant course so as to direct the rolling train into digital transformation and not into a siding. Setting this course correctly requires perseverance and powers of persuasion. However, social empathy is also required as dogmatic language only causes employees to fold their arms rather than causing the barriers at the railway crossing to open.

However, it is indispensable as a key concept for the journey into the digital age. Integrated PLM can be seen as not just a challenge but also a huge opportunity for industry and society.

Menu

ARTIKEL: INTEGRIERTES PRODUCT LIFECYCLE MANAGEMENT

Warum integriertes Product Lifecycle Management eine existenzielle Bedeutung für die Digitalisierungsstrategie hat und welche Anforderungen an die Modernisierung bestehender PLM-Systeme gestellt werden

Jeder von Ihnen kennt die Hochglanz Werbevideos, in denen Technologievisionen das Ende komplizierter Entwicklungsprozesse suggerieren. Dabei wird das Engineering via Augmented Reality zum Kinderspiel, das Design wird in Echtzeit-Feedbackschleifen im virtuellen Raum optimiert und anschließend mit additiven Fertigungsverfahren vor Ort produziert. Alles umrahmt von künstlicher Intelligenz. Wer braucht da noch Product Lifecycle Management?

Was so visionär klingt, ist aus rein pragmatischer Sicht nur das Langzeitergebnis der disruptiven Veränderungsprozesse der modernen Industrie. Die grundsätzlichen Anforderungen an den Produktlebenszyklus bleiben jedoch auch bei einem solchen Automatisierungsgrad die gleichen:

die Einführung digitaler Systemmodelle für durchgängige Prozessketten in der Produktentwicklung, Produktionsplanung, Produktion und im Service. Das bedeutet: Die Bereitstellung aller Informationen rund um das System, eine lückenlose horizontale und vertikale Integration der Wertschöpfungskette, eine konsistente Nachverfolgbarkeit und damit schlussendlich die Minimierung der TCO.

Eine der größten aktuellen Herausforderungen im Product Lifecycle Management ist der Aufbau eines PLM Systems, das über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus integriert ist. In der Praxis liegt der Fokus der Enterprise Anwendungen allerdings bisher ausschließlich auf der Entwicklung und der Konstruktion. „Integriert“ sollte in diesem Zusammenhang jedoch auch die Abdeckung von Zulieferketten und After-Sales beinhalten. Um das zu gewährleisten, braucht es eine Art zentrales BUS-System, welches über den gesamten Lebenszyklus und über alle Dimensionen einheitlich kommunizieren kann: die Produktstruktur. Letztendlich stellt sie das Gerüst für ein digitales Systemmodell.

Ganz konkret zeigt sich dieser Bruch in der Upstream-Integration an den Grenzen zwischen CAD-Modellen des Engineerings, den Anforderungsstrukturen und den Stücklistenpositionen in der E-BOM.

In der Downstream-Integration stellt sich spätestens an der Schnittstelle der E-BOM zur M-BOM die gleiche Problematik ein. Unterschiedliche Autorensysteme und fehlende Verbindungen, bzw. nicht existente funktionale und logische Produktarchitekturen erschweren den Weg zur vollständigen Integration hierbei enorm.

Zukünftige PLM Systeme müssen in der Lage sein, die eben genannten Prozesse reibungsfrei abzubilden. Gerade unter Anbetracht von modernen „As a Service“-Geschäftsmodellen, Predictive Maintenance und Nachhaltigkeitstrends sind digitale Modelle weit über die Auslieferung hinaus von strategischer Bedeutung für die Systementwicklung der Zukunft und die Digitalisierungsstrategie fast jedes Unternehmens.

Für Service und Maintenance werden in Zukunft „Digital Twins“ aus den globalen digitalen Modellen heraus abgeleitet und repräsentieren damit den „as maintained“ Status der einzelnen Systeminstanzen. Lauf- und Ausfallzeiten, Gesundheitsdaten und andere Systeminformationen aus dem Betrieb fließen zurück und finden direkten Einbezug in das Design nächster Produktgenerationen. Systeme sind damit zum Beispiel auch in der Lage, selbstständig Ersatzteilbestellungen durchzuführen – Condition Monitoring mittels IIoT.

Es lassen sich aus diesen Ausführungen folgende Anforderungen kurz zusammenfassen:

  • Einführung von MBSE für vertikale und horizontale Traceability
  • Integration einer durchgängigen Produktstruktur für die Auflösung von Konflikten zwischen verschiedenen Stücklisten und Sichten auf das System
  • Einsatz eines digitalen Modells / digitalen Zwillings für „As a Service“ Dienstleistungen
  • Standardisiertes Änderungs- und Konfigurationsmanagement über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus
  • Einsatz von Business Intelligence, um Optimierungspotenziale frühzeitig zu erkennen und damit zum Beispiel das Engineering und den Service zu verbessern
  • Integration von agilen Vorgehensweisen in der Weiterentwicklung der Autoren- und Administrations Systeme.

Schlussendlich ist das Management gefragt, die entsprechenden Weichen zu stellen, um den rollenden Zug in die digitale Transformation und nicht auf das Abstellgleis zu lenken. Diese Weichen richtig zu stellen, fordert Durchsetzungsvermögen und Überzeugungskraft. Aber auch soziale Empathie ist gefragt, denn mit dogmatischen Parolen verschränken sich hier nur die Arme der Mitarbeiter und nicht die Schranken am Bahnübergang.

Als Schlüsselkonzept für die Fahrt ins digitale Zeitalter ist es jedoch unumgänglich. Integriertes PLM ist perspektivisch nicht nur eine Herausforderung, sondern auch eine riesige Chance für Industrie und Gesellschaft.

Menü